What Is Vanish Mode On Instagram?

Being an Instagram user, have you ever wondered what is vanish mode? It is a type of setting or feature? Relax, calm down a bit! As you know Instagram is loaded with different features such as boomerang, stores, posts, layout, and so on. In my today’s post, I will discuss everything about what is Instagram’s vanish mode in detail. Here, will also explain how to turn on and turn off vanish mode on Instagram. Make sure you even check out what happens when you turn on this mode. Without wasting much time, let’s learn what is vanish mode in brief.

What Is Vanish Mode On Instagram?

Vanish mode is a special feature added to Instagram as well as Facebook Messenger. This feature allows Instagram users to create and join temporary chat threats. These chats are automatically erased when the chat ends.

However, this feature is similar to Snapchat’s self-erasing feature. The only difference is that this mode works only when you turn it on manually.

Turn On Vanish Mode On Instagram

In the above section, you’ve understood what is a vanish mode. You can easily activate the vanish mode on Instagram by following these steps for how to turn on vanish mode.

  1. First, open your Instagram app on any device.
  2. Then, tap on the chat icon to open the chat page.
  3. Now, open an existing message from the chat page.
  4. You can also create a new chat by tapping on the new message button.
  5. Then, swipe upwards from the bottom of your screen and release.
  6. Your screen will turn black indicating you’re in vanish mode.
  7. A bunch of shush emojis will also fall from the top of your screen.

You can now chat with the recipient as usual. However, the recipient’s chat window will also turn black. A message is displayed on the recipient’s screen indicating that it’s in vanish mode.

Turn Off Vanish Mode On Instagram

Turning off vanish mode is also simple just like activating it. You can follow these steps to turn off the active vanish mode on Instagram.

  1. First, open your Instagram app on your phone.
  2. Then, tap on the chat icon to open the chat page.
  3. Now, open an existing chat having vanish mode from the chat page.
  4. Then, swipe down from the top of your screen and release.
  5. Your screen will now turn back to normal indicating the vanish mode is turned off.

Now, both you and the recipient will exit from vanish mode. But you can still see the messages you send during the vanish mode only until you close the chat window. After you close the chat window, the messages will be gone forever!

Let us now check out what is vanish mode on messenger and how to turn on vanish mode in messenger.

Vanish Mode On Facebook Messenger

A vanish mode on Facebook messenger is similar to the vanish mode on Instagram. It allows people to send temporary messages, photos, videos, and other content in an active chat. However, the messages will disappear as soon as the recipient reads them. You can follow the same above-written steps if you want to activate this mode on messenger. But, can you tell if someone is using vanish mode on messenger? Yes, the chat screen of both the users is notified indicating it’s in vanish mode.

Things To Remember While Using Vanish Mode On Instagram

Till now, you have learned what is vanish mode on iPhone. Using vanish mode is quite easy. But the following are a few things you have to keep in your mind about vanish mode.

  • Only you can control the chat if you have activated this feature.
  • This mode only works in chats between two people and not in group chats.
  • When a person takes screenshots in vanish mode, the other person is notified immediately.

You can learn much more on various topics on prozgo.com

FAQ

Why Would Someone Turn On Vanish Mode On Instagram?

This feature helps users to have private chats that disappear after they are read. Instagram’s Vanish mode makes sure that your private messages are not being read by others snooping on your device.

Can Someone See If You Put Vanish Mode On Instagram?

Can someone see when you turn on vanish mode? No, the other person will not come to know if you turn on the Vanish Mode on Instagram. However, if you take a screenshot of the messages in vanish mode the other person on the chat would be notified immediately.

Does Vanish Mode Delete Messages On Both Sides?

When the Vanish mode is activated for a contact, the messages will be erased from both parties’ inbox after the other person has seen them. You need to close the chat, and the messages would have disappeared after you reopen it.

Is Vanish Mode Safe?

Important Things to Know About Vanish Mode
This is a safety precaution by the company so that you don’t have to deal with unsolicited messages from strangers on Instagram. You can also choose to opt-in to this feature with someone or decline the request. You’ve got total control of your chat experience.

Conclusion

By reading my above post, you’ve learned what is vanish mode on Instagram and Facebook Messenger in brief. Using vanish mode is a great way to send quick messages without clogging up your regular chat. This mode is available on phones, Instagram, and Facebook messenger. The best part about this mode is that both users are alerted if the recipient tries to take a chat screenshot. You can also turn off the vanish mode by simply opening the chat and swiping down from top to bottom. Thus, you can now easily use vanish mode by understanding what is vanish mode.

Related articles

Latest articles